DOT Logo

  • DoT Port visit at Puma Energy

    MTAP Port Visit

    Officers in the Maritime Technical Assistance Program observing ISPS security application at Puma Energy's port facility.

  • The Project for Capacity Development of DoT in port policy and administration

    Capacity Development Program

    DoT Maritime officers with JICA experts on a port facility survey as part of the Capacity Development Program on Port Policy and Administration

  • Moresby Express an ISPS compliant ship

    ISPS Compliant Ships

    Maritime Security Division enforces the ISPS code in PNG via the Merchant Shipping (Maritime Security) Regulation 2005

  • TSPU officer at Jackson's airport, Port Moresby

    Transport Security Policy Unit

    TSPU officer from DoT at Jackson's airport

The Maritime Transport Division ensures that citizens and businesses in all parts of PNG are provided with an accessible maritime transport that is economically efficient and sustainable in the long term. In conjunction with other Maritime agencies, it is responsible for the setting of policies to regulate the domestic shipping industry in PNG.

The Maritime Transport Division, within the Department of Transport is headed by the First Assistant Secretary. Formulating Maritime Policies and Market Regulations for the shipping industry including nomination of ports as ‘declared’ or ‘undeclared’ ports lies within the Department of Transport. Through the Maritime Division the Department of Transport is recognized as the legitimate representative of the PNG Government for maritime transport related matters and works in partnership with National Maritime Safety Authority in regard to International Agreements on maritime (Safety) matters and registration of vessels.

The responsibilities maintained by Maritime Transport Division include:

  1. Issuance of Coastal Trade License
  2. Issuance of Coastal Trade Permit
  3. Ensuring the Coasting Trade License and Permit conditions compliance for international and coastal vessels in accordance with the provision of the Coasting Trade Act.
  4. Monitoring the total number of vessels allowed to trade in these waters. The current practice is generally prohibiting overseas vessels from carrying domestic cargoes.

The functions consists in the delivery, to the applicant of the coasting trade licence or coasting trade permit granting the shipper the right to carryout coastal shipping activities for a specific time or period of 1 to 8 years maximum.  The licensing period depends on the prime functions, age and size of the vessel.

In 2013, the total number of licenses and permits issued was 206.

In 2014, the total number of licenses and permits issued increased to 253.

With regard to international transit, it is estimated that 3850 vessels per year  which made voyages between Australia’s east ports and Asian ports.  The traffic is principally bulk carriers, container vessels and general cargo vessels.

To date there are 916 coastal vessels  which have been licensed and are operating in PNG coastal waters.  These vessels include motor tugs and dumb barges.  The total numbers of vessels that have been issued with the coasting trade permits to undertake temporary voyage are 60.

Shipping Administration Branch

The Shipping Administration Branch purpose is to control and regulate the number of coastal vessels trading on specific routes within PNG waters, with the intention of encouraging competition, while maintaining strict control over the safety of all PNG registered vessels.

The responsibility of the Shipping Administration Branch is to receive and review the applications and to pass them to the Coasting Trade Committee (CTC).

The CTC is chaired by the First Assistant Secretary Maritime Transport Division and comprises Committee Members from the Shipping Industry and Government.

The Committee meets quarterly to grant, refuse and or defer the licence applications by way of recommendation by the Minister who signs the original licenses.

The Shipping Administration Branch deliberates and assesses the necessary requirements of the Merchant Shipping Act for ship-owners to correctly follow during lodgement of Applications for Permits and Licenses.

Secretary's Foreword

In July 2013, the current Government approved the National Transport Strategy (NTS) which comprises the 2014-2030 Policy and related Investment Plan (2014-2018) as our road map for the Transport Sector in PNG. The NTS specifies the sub sector modal policies, plans and priority projects that have been identified by the sector agencies for delivery.

Department of Transport will continue to be the lead agency in the Coordination& Monitoring of the NTS and in developing transport sector policies, identifying and setting strategies, Planning & Budgeting and Monitoring & Coordination of those Policies and Plans for the three modes of transportation: air, land and sea in PNG.

The 2014 elevation of the former Ministry of Transport, under the Prime Minister's Ministerial Determinations, to the new Ministry of Transport & Infrastructure in the coordination of key transport infrastructures approved by the Government has challenged the Department's preparedness to take on the added responsibility.

However, this does not change our aspirations to focus on the Department of Transport's vision by striving to improve on our consultation and collaboration with our many stakeholders and partnering with the industry and communities to facilitate the delivery of a well-integrated, safe and sustainable transport system in PNG.

Our Secretary

Department of Transport & Infrastructure Secretary

Roy Mumu, OBE

Thank you for your feedback!