DOT Logo

  • DoT Port visit at Puma Energy

    MTAP Port Visit

    Officers in the Maritime Technical Assistance Program observing ISPS security application at Puma Energy's port facility.

  • The Project for Capacity Development of DoT in port policy and administration

    Capacity Development Program

    DoT Maritime officers with JICA experts on a port facility survey as part of the Capacity Development Program on Port Policy and Administration

  • Moresby Express an ISPS compliant ship

    ISPS Compliant Ships

    Maritime Security Division enforces the ISPS code in PNG via the Merchant Shipping (Maritime Security) Regulation 2005

  • TSPU officer at Jackson's airport, Port Moresby

    Transport Security Policy Unit

    TSPU officer from DoT at Jackson's airport

The Transport Security & Policy Unit was fully established in January, 2013 with nine newly recruited staff, and is housed at Enga 2 (DoT) Building, Ground Floor, 7 Mile, Port Moresby.

Establishment of this Unit is captured on the National Transport Strategy and the DoT Corporate Plan 2013 – 2015.

TSPU is the Secretariat on Transport Safety and Security, and the Secretariat provides a forum for constructive discussions of Transport Safety and Security issues and situations in PNG, and border areas and identifies practical steps to address specific transport safety and security concerns.

TSPU has completed draft of Transport Security Strategies such as Aviation Security Strategy, Maritime Security Strategy, and Land Transport Strategy. These strategies will be put out for Stakeholder consultation and to be finalized as part of the Transport Security Policy development.

Stakeholder consultations are crucial for policy development; therefore various Stakeholder Advisory Committees were established for Transport Security Policy and Strategies development in 2014 and onwards.

In moving forward TSPU established three Stakeholders Advisory Committees namely: Aviation Security Advisory Committee, Maritime Security Advisory Committee and Land Transport Security Advisory Committee. These Committees are living forums which consist of Stakeholders, experts and Agencies of Government when called upon for consultation, deliberation, advice and coordination on Security policies, programs, and related Issues.

The roles and responsibilities of TSPU are:

  • Be central point of policy formulation, development, and continuous improvements to ensure processes are streamlined and security delivery outcomes are targeted, and delivered. TSPU is committed to this responsibility by ensuring coordination of sectoral programs, effective legislation, and regulations are developed, oversight, monitoring, and auditing of respective key stakeholders, and adhering to International standards, and recommended practices;
  • The Government is committed to ensuring that PNG complies with International Civil Aviation Organizations (ICAO) Standards and Recommended Practices (Annex 17), International Maritimes Organizations International Ships & Port Facility Security (ISPS) Code, and other applicable International codes, and standards so that it maintains and enhances its international reputation and ensures that its international transport connections to key markets, trade and commercial activities are not jeopardized.
  • Transport Security will ensure that no terrorist, criminal elements or other individual are successful in causing harm or significant disruption to the air, maritime and surface transportation systems, and its users.
  • Transport security at the land, and sea borders are similarly important and the transport agencies and other concern stakeholders will work with Border Security Authorities to facilitate legal cross-border trade and guard against illegal movement of people, and goods.
  • Transport Security will investigate, respond and mitigate security breaches by ensuring agile incident response capability, coordinated to swiftly and effectively restore freedom of movement, and establish and maintain stakeholders outreach.
  • The Government will enhance the security of domestic and transit traffic through improvement of existing modal programs, infrastructure and equipments to air, maritime sea and land services and systems for incidents and emergencies responses, and
  • Transport Security will seek resources, legislation, and policy opportunities that support these strategies to protect the people of PNG by securing cargo transportation by air, maritime and land, ensuring freedom of commerce, identifying security risks, addressing threats and preventing the use of cargo as an instrument to conduct acts of terrorism and disruption to the air, maritime and land transportation systems.

Secretary's Foreword

In July 2013, the current Government approved the National Transport Strategy (NTS) which comprises the 2014-2030 Policy and related Investment Plan (2014-2018) as our road map for the Transport Sector in PNG. The NTS specifies the sub sector modal policies, plans and priority projects that have been identified by the sector agencies for delivery.

Department of Transport will continue to be the lead agency in the Coordination& Monitoring of the NTS and in developing transport sector policies, identifying and setting strategies, Planning & Budgeting and Monitoring & Coordination of those Policies and Plans for the three modes of transportation: air, land and sea in PNG.

The 2014 elevation of the former Ministry of Transport, under the Prime Minister's Ministerial Determinations, to the new Ministry of Transport & Infrastructure in the coordination of key transport infrastructures approved by the Government has challenged the Department's preparedness to take on the added responsibility.

However, this does not change our aspirations to focus on the Department of Transport's vision by striving to improve on our consultation and collaboration with our many stakeholders and partnering with the industry and communities to facilitate the delivery of a well-integrated, safe and sustainable transport system in PNG.

Our Secretary

Department of Transport & Infrastructure Secretary

Roy Mumu, OBE