DOT Logo

  • DoT Port visit at Puma Energy

    MTAP Port Visit

    Officers in the Maritime Technical Assistance Program observing ISPS security application at Puma Energy's port facility.

  • The Project for Capacity Development of DoT in port policy and administration

    Capacity Development Program

    DoT Maritime officers with JICA experts on a port facility survey as part of the Capacity Development Program on Port Policy and Administration

  • Moresby Express an ISPS compliant ship

    ISPS Compliant Ships

    Maritime Security Division enforces the ISPS code in PNG via the Merchant Shipping (Maritime Security) Regulation 2005

  • TSPU officer at Jackson's airport, Port Moresby

    Transport Security Policy Unit

    TSPU officer from DoT at Jackson's airport

The Office of Secretary has five administrative staff and supported by two Deputy Secretaries who are responsible for two Sections within the Department.  These sections are Policy Planning and Technical Services.

The roles and responsibilities of the Secretary include:

  • Provide policy advice on transport matters to the Minister and the Government on timely basis;
  • Develop and adopt set of transport policies that aim to stimulate market and drive efficiency within transport system;
  • Develop the National Transport Strategy (NTS) short and medium term Transport Investment Plans;
  • Set priorities and targets;
  • Resourced the plan;
  • Develop a clear time bound implementation schedule based on the priorities, targets and the availability of resources;
  • Monitor performance and report on progress; and
  • Coordinate, monitor and report on progress

The Secretary as the Departmental Head has powers under several Acts/Legislation that is administered by the Department.

Under the Motor Traffic Act 243 Part II (Administration) Section 4, states that “the Departmental Head of the Department responsible for the administration of all legislation pertaining to land transport matters (a) is the Superintendent of the Motor Traffic; and (b) under the Minister, is charged with the administration of this Act”.

The Secretary as stated is the Superintendent of the Motor Traffic and is empowered to exercise the powers vested on him as the Superintendent of Motor Traffic.  Some of these powers (under the MTA) include the following:

  • Delegation of powers to Provincial Government to collect certain fees for their revenue;
  • Issuance and Suspension/Cancellation of Licenses (PMVs)
  • Endorsement of use of Left Hand Drives
  • Registration of Diplomatic Vehicles
  • Exemptions of Registration (Heavy Vehicles- Heavy Vehicles Act)
  • Motor Car Trading Licence
  • Endorsement of Driving License Upgrade

Other Acts/Clauses/Conventions that empowers the Secretary to act across the three modes (land/air/sea) are stated below:

  • MCD Act
  • Heavy Vehicle Licensing Act
  • Merchant Shipping Act
  • PNG Ports Acts
  • Harbours Act
  • NMSA Act
  • Shipping Act

The Secretary is an Ex-Official member of many boards and a member of other committees.

The Secretary is an Ex-Officio member of the following boards:

  • Land Transport Board
  • NRA
  • NMSA
  • NAC (Replaces CAA)

Some of the Boards/Committees that the Secretary is a member of include:

  • Chairman to the Sub Committee to the Ministerial Infrastructure Sector Committee
  • Chairman to the TSMIC
  • Member on the MVIL Board
  • Member of Board of Directors - Pacific Re Limited
  • Member of the National Road Safety Council
  • Member of the Government’s Projects Oversight Committee chaired by the Chief Secretary
  • Co-Chair of the PNG/Australia Transport Senior Officials Meeting (TSOM)


This office was created to assist the Secretary in the coordination and management of specific projects under the then government’s Rural Transport Infrastructure program, including the Coastal vessels project, which has been transferred to the Rural Development Division. This role is partly performed by the new Rural Transport Infrastructure Development (RTID) Division.

Secretary's Foreword

In July 2013, the current Government approved the National Transport Strategy (NTS) which comprises the 2014-2030 Policy and related Investment Plan (2014-2018) as our road map for the Transport Sector in PNG. The NTS specifies the sub sector modal policies, plans and priority projects that have been identified by the sector agencies for delivery.

Department of Transport will continue to be the lead agency in the Coordination& Monitoring of the NTS and in developing transport sector policies, identifying and setting strategies, Planning & Budgeting and Monitoring & Coordination of those Policies and Plans for the three modes of transportation: air, land and sea in PNG.

The 2014 elevation of the former Ministry of Transport, under the Prime Minister's Ministerial Determinations, to the new Ministry of Transport & Infrastructure in the coordination of key transport infrastructures approved by the Government has challenged the Department's preparedness to take on the added responsibility.

However, this does not change our aspirations to focus on the Department of Transport's vision by striving to improve on our consultation and collaboration with our many stakeholders and partnering with the industry and communities to facilitate the delivery of a well-integrated, safe and sustainable transport system in PNG.

Our Secretary

Department of Transport & Infrastructure Secretary

Roy Mumu, OBE