In the last ten years, the Government has made important investments in the sea transport sector. Over the next five years, the focus will be on developing an easily accessible sea transport system to stimulate economic activities in the rural maritime regions and improve the efficiency of international shipping.

The four key programs the Government will invest in are:

  1. National wharves development;
  2. National ports development;
  3. Jetty development and maintenance programs and
  4. National Shipping Service.